We don't have enough comparable filing data to score at least four of the five filters for NVR, so we don't publish a composite. Missing: pricingPower, returnsOnCapital. No composite: 2 components abstained (pricingPower: Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power.; returnsOnCapital: Not enough years of ROIC data to score returns on capital.).
19 years of fundamentals
The business, in plain English
Across the filed record, revenue grew from $2.7B (FY2009) to $10.3B (FY2025) — about 8.6% a year compounded over 16 years.
NVR's latest filed year, FY2025, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.
This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.
FY2007–FY2025 · 19 fiscal years, normalized from NVR’s SEC filings
Sales, as filed$10.3B FY2025Revenue kept after cost of goods
Not disclosed in NVR’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.
Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC
Not disclosed in NVR’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.
Cash an owner could take out$1.3B FY2025
Gaps in a line mean that item isn’t in NVR’s filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.
Flagship explainer
How NVR, Inc. makes its money
NVR, Inc.'s filing does not supply enough comparable lines for a truthful flow chart — here's what is filed:
· event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set
Curated 19-manager tier
Who reported holding NVR, Inc.
Delayed public 13F reports for 2026-Q2—not live positions, trades, or recommendations.
0 holding0 exited0 not holding0/19 resolved19 not retrieved
Named manager positions and quarter-over-quarter changes
Manager
Reported position
Quarter-over-quarter
Filing accession
Abrams Capital
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Akre Capital
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Baupost Group
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Berkshire Hathaway
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Brave Warrior Advisors
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Dodge & Cox
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
First Eagle
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Fundsmith
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Gardner Russo & Quinn
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Gates Foundation Trust
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Mairs & Power
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Markel / Markel-Gayner
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Oakmark / Harris Associates
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Pershing Square
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Polen Capital
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Sequoia / Ruane Cunniff
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Southeastern Asset Management
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Tweedy, Browne
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Yacktman Asset Management
Not retrieved
Comparison not retrieved
Filing not retrieved
Position size uses shares and filed value from each manager’s 13F. Portfolio weight uses the eligible long-share filing denominator. Changes compare only with the immediately preceding calendar quarter.
Source: Filing source not retrieved · event Jun 30, 2026 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026
Flagship explainer
What NVR, Inc. insiders reported
Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 2, 2026.
Partial coverage: the incomplete Form 4 walk cannot establish no activity, an activity date, or zero counts.
Moat Score history
16 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten
Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale
No composite readings yet — NVR’s filings don’t give the engine enough comparable data to score, and we log that honestly instead of guessing a number.
Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars
Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.
Insider activity
Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”
These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.
This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.
Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 2, 2026.
Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.
Scroll sideways to see all columns
Insider
Shares owned after
Date
Filing detail
Oliver GeorgeDirector
Open-market or private purchase (P)Table I · Acquired · NVR, Inc. common stock
63
$6,431.51
$405,185
63
Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
Table I · NVR, Inc. common stock: 63 shares at $6,431.51 · code P · owned after 63 ·
How NVR, Inc.’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.
Point-in-time scores 2011–2025, one methodology version · reconstructed from filings on file each Dec 31 — never with hindsight
Point-in-time Moat Score (dot colored by tier)Indexed price (total-return (dividends reinvested))Rated Wide-moat that year
How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored NVR on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.
Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The indexed price path isn't available for this company yet; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.
What followed, in the years it rated Wide
In the reconstructed history shown, NVR did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.
Industrials context
Not ranked — NVR doesn’t have enough comparable filing data for a composite score, so we don’t place it on the board.
We don't publish a Moat Score for NVR, Inc. (NVR): its SEC filings don't provide enough comparable data to score at least four of the five filters, and the Index records each gap rather than a guessed number. Missing inputs: pricing power, returns on capital.
Is NVR trading below the conservative owner-earnings estimate?
The value if growth stopped today — a zero-growth baseline — is $6317.30 per share. It capitalizes normalized owner earnings at a 9% rate and assumes 0% growth. Versus a recent price of $6414.67, that is around the value if growth stopped today. The model also publishes a capped-growth comparison, but the zero-growth estimate is the cautious baseline. It assumes trailing owner earnings persist and is unreliable for declining businesses. This is an educational estimate from primary SEC filings, not intrinsic value as a fact or investment advice.
How has NVR's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 16 readings since Jul 17, 2026, none with a composite — NVR hasn't had enough comparable filing data to score. No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.
Scored from primary SEC filings via the public methodology. Educational only — not a recommendation to buy or sell NVR. See the disclaimer.