ANAPTYSBIO, INC.

ANAB · Healthcare · $1.6B mkt cap · FY2025 filings · · Shallow moat ·

Doesn't clear the bar

Shallow moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

55

2021–2025 (latest 5 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $63.2M to $235M, increasing; diluted EPS -2.11 to -0.46, increasing. Latest-filed diluted EPS remains usable for Business Trend, but an integer share-count change lacks enough evidence to confirm a comparable EPS basis; valuation growth therefore stays at 0%.

Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power.

0

Median ROIC -25.2%, above the 12% hurdle in 0% of years.

100

Net cash position — no leverage risk.

24

Owner earnings changed trend unclear over up to the ten most recent annual observations.

The pricingPower component abstained: Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power. The other four 20% weights were renormalized over the scored 80%.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
No price data
Not reported
Unavailable — insufficient owner-earnings data
Unavailable — insufficient growth-model data
$56.52
No price data

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 238% above the zero-growth estimate across 49 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Sep 4, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOG, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, RMD, GRMN, PCTY, EAT, UI, SSD, MNST, DOCS, LRCX, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, ROL, CTAS, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, JKHY, TPR, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, LOPE

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

12 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

Across the filed record, revenue grew from $17.6M (FY2015) to $235M (FY2025) — about 29.6% a year compounded over 10 years.

ROIC is not available for the latest filed year, FY2025. Across the full 6-year measurable filed record, median ROIC was −25.2%. Over the v3 recent window (6 measurable filed years), median ROIC was −25.2%. The Returns on Capital filter above scores it 0/100.

ANAB's latest filed year, FY2025, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2014–FY2025 · 12 fiscal years, normalized from ANAB’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$235M FY2025
$0$100M$200M2014201820222025
Revenue kept after cost of goods

Not disclosed in ANAB’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.

Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.

Cash an owner could take out−$12.8M FY2025
−$100M$02014201820222025

The explained ROIC gaps have filed inputs but no meaningful positive invested-capital denominator. Other gaps mean the item is not in the filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Visual explainers

The filing-backed explainer service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed chart is shown.

Moat Score history

17 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale44.7 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 20, 2026Sep 4, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

The insider-filing service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed answer is shown for ANAB.

Healthcare context

#261 of 708 scored Healthcare companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #259OCUL OCULAR THERAPEUTIX, INC44.8 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  2. #260LGVN LONGEVERON INC.44.8 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  3. #262CRNX Crinetics Pharmaceuticals, Inc.44.6 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  4. #263KAYS KAYA HOLDINGS, INC.44.4 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat

Compare ANAB with its nearest peersAll Healthcare companies on the Index →

Common questions about ANAB

Does ANAPTYSBIO, INC. have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores ANAPTYSBIO, INC. (ANAB) 44.7 out of 100 — a Shallow moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 55, pricing power not measurable from the filings, returns on capital 0, balance-sheet safety 100, capital allocation 24.
How has ANAB's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 17 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 44.7 out of 100 (shallow moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.