Joby Aviation, Inc.

JOBY · Consumer Discretionary · $6.3B mkt cap · FY2025 filings · · not refreshed in 39 days · No moat ·

Doesn't clear the bar

No moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

40

2023–2025 (latest 3 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $1M to $53.4M, increasing; diluted EPS -0.79 to -1.13, decreasing. Latest-filed diluted EPS remains usable for Business Trend, but an integer share-count change lacks enough evidence to confirm a comparable EPS basis; valuation growth therefore stays at 0%.

Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power.

0

Median ROIC -48.6%, above the 12% hurdle in 0% of years.

55

Net cash position — no leverage risk.

24

Owner earnings changed trend unclear over up to the ten most recent annual observations.

The pricingPower component abstained: Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power. The other four 20% weights were renormalized over the scored 80%.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
No price data
Not reported
Unavailable — insufficient owner-earnings data
Unavailable — insufficient growth-model data
$6.93
No price data

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 239% above the zero-growth estimate across 48 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Jul 26, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOGL, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, GRMN, SSD, MNST, DOCS, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, LRCX, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, RMD, ROL, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, CTAS, LOPE, MRK, CMG, FAST, BKNG, ORLY

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF, BKNG.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

7 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

It earned −48.6% on invested capital in the latest filed year, FY2025. Across the full 5-year measurable filed record, median ROIC was −48.6%. Over the v3 recent window (5 measurable filed years), median ROIC was −48.6%. The Returns on Capital filter above scores it 0/100.

JOBY's latest filed year, FY2025, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2019–FY2025 · 7 fiscal years, normalized from JOBY’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$53.4M FY2025
$0$20M$40M2019202120232025
Revenue kept after cost of goods

Not disclosed in JOBY’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.

Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROICROIC −48.6% FY2025
−50%−25%0%2019202120232025
Cash an owner could take out−$930M FY2025
−$1B−$500M$02019202120232025

Gaps in a line mean that item isn’t in JOBY’s filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Flagship explainer

How Joby Aviation, Inc. makes its money

Joby Aviation, Inc.'s filing does not supply enough comparable lines for a truthful flow chart — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of revenueSource
$53.4M100%
−$720M−1347%
Income before tax−$929M−1738%
Income tax$1.3M2%
−$930M−1740%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What Joby Aviation, Inc. owns — and owes

Joby Aviation, Inc.'s filing tags don't support a full breakdown — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of assetsSource
Total assets$1.8B100%
Cash and equivalents$241M13%
Stockholders’ equity$1.4B79%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What drives Joby Aviation, Inc.’s return on equity?

ROE is five filed business factors multiplied together.

DuPont return on equity factor treeReturn on equity branches into tax burden, interest burden, operating margin, asset turnover, and the equity multiplier.Return on equity−80%Tax burden100%net income ÷ pretax incomeInterest burden129%pretax ÷ operating incomeOperating margin−1347%operating income ÷ revenueAsset turnover0.04×revenue ÷ average assetsEquity multiplier1.29×average assets ÷ average equityAs of 2025-12-31 · 1 SEC filing sourceBuy Like Buffett · buylikebuffett.com
DuPont source inputs
InputValueFiscal yearSource
−$930MFY2025
Income before tax−$929MFY2025
Operating income−$720MFY2025
$53.4MFY2025
Ending assets$1.8BFY2025
Beginning assets$1.2BFY2024
$1.4BFY2025
$912MFY2024
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set
Embed this chart

Flagship explainer

Where Joby Aviation, Inc.'s cash went

Joby Aviation, Inc.’s filing does not supply enough provenance-matched cash-flow lines for a truthful flow chart — here’s what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of cash from operationsSource
Cash from operations−$510M−100%
Depreciation and amortization$40.2M8%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Curated 19-manager tier

Who reported holding Joby Aviation, Inc.

Delayed public 13F reports for 2026-Q2—not live positions, trades, or recommendations.

0 holding0 exited1 not holding1/19 resolved18 not retrieved

Named manager positions and quarter-over-quarter changes
ManagerReported positionQuarter-over-quarterFiling accession
Markel / Markel-GaynerNo position reportedNo position reported
Abrams CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Akre CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Baupost GroupNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Berkshire HathawayNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Brave Warrior AdvisorsNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Dodge & CoxNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
First EagleNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
FundsmithNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Gardner Russo & QuinnNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Gates Foundation TrustNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Mairs & PowerNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Oakmark / Harris AssociatesNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Pershing SquareNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Polen CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Sequoia / Ruane CunniffNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Southeastern Asset ManagementNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Tweedy, BrowneNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Yacktman Asset ManagementNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved

Position size uses shares and filed value from each manager’s 13F. Portfolio weight uses the eligible long-share filing denominator. Changes compare only with the immediately preceding calendar quarter.

Source: · event Jun 30, 2026 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026

Flagship explainer

What Joby Aviation, Inc. insiders reported

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

Partial coverage: the incomplete Form 4 walk cannot establish no activity, an activity date, or zero counts.

Moat Score history

16 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale29.8 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 20, 2026Jul 26, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

InsiderShares owned afterDateFiling detail
Brumana RodrigoChief Financial OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock8,898$6.89$61,307110,831Sep 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 8,898 shares at $6.89 · code S · owned after 110,831 ·
Sciarra Paul CahillDirectorOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock62,500$6.68$417,50055,703,057Sep 2, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 62,500 shares at $6.68 · code S · owned after 55,703,057 ·
Brumana RodrigoChief Financial OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock37,831$6.77$256,116119,729Sep 2, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 37,831 shares at $6.77 · code S · owned after 119,729 ·
Brumana RodrigoChief Financial OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock · 1 paired event73,421Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)157,560Sep 1, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 73,421 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 157,560 · Paired event: 73,421 Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) → 73,421 Common Stock ·
Brumana RodrigoChief Financial OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) · 1 paired event73,421Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)807,636Sep 1, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Units (RSUs): 73,421 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 807,636 · Paired event: 73,421 Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) → 73,421 Common Stock ·
Bowles GregoryChief Policy OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock4,575$7.23$33,077191,986Aug 25, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 4,575 shares at $7.23 · code S · owned after 191,986 ·
Bowles GregoryChief Policy OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock3,531$7.34$25,918196,561Aug 24, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 3,531 shares at $7.34 · code S · owned after 196,561 ·
Bowles GregoryChief Policy OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock · 1 paired event11,156Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)200,092Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 11,156 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 200,092 · Paired event: 11,156 Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) → 11,156 Common Stock ·
Bowles GregoryChief Policy OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) · 1 paired event11,156Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)22,312Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Units (RSUs): 11,156 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 22,312 · Paired event: 11,156 Restricted Stock Units (RSUs) → 11,156 Common Stock ·
Bevirt JoeBenDirector, CEO and Chief ArchitectOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock596,667$7.87$4,695,76957,814,044Aug 17, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 596,667 shares at $7.87 · code S · owned after 57,814,044 ·
Sciarra Paul CahillDirectorOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock62,500$7.96$497,50055,765,557Aug 13, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 62,500 shares at $7.96 · code S · owned after 55,765,557 ·

Source-event as of . Retrieved .

Track record

How Joby Aviation, Inc.’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.

Point-in-time scores 20202025, one methodology version · reconstructed from filings on file each Dec 31 — never with hindsight

Point-in-time Moat Score (dot colored by tier)Indexed price (total-return (dividends reinvested))Rated Wide-moat that year

How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored JOBY on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.

0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatPoint-in-time Moat Score50100Indexed price · log scale (2021 = 100)2020202120222023202420252026

Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The price path is a total-return (dividends reinvested) index built from the same data the forward returns use; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.

What followed, in the years it rated Wide

In the reconstructed history shown, JOBY did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.

Consumer Discretionary context

#398 of 487 scored Consumer Discretionary companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #396GRNQ Greenpro Capital Corp.29.8 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  2. #397NRDE NU RIDE INC.29.8 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  3. #399BTBD BT BRANDS, INC.29.7 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  4. #400PK Park Hotels & Resorts Inc.29.5 out of 100, No moatNo moat

Compare JOBY with its nearest peersAll Consumer Discretionary companies on the Index →

Common questions about JOBY

Does Joby Aviation, Inc. have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores Joby Aviation, Inc. (JOBY) 29.8 out of 100 — below the Shallow-moat bar, so no moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 40, pricing power not measurable from the filings, returns on capital 0, balance-sheet safety 55, capital allocation 24.
How has JOBY's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 16 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 29.8 out of 100 (no moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.