LEGGETT & PLATT INC

LEG · Materials · $1.3B mkt cap · FY2025 filings · · No moat ·

Price verdict withheld — value if growth stopped today unreliable

No moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

10

2021–2025 (latest 5 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $5.1B to $4.1B, decreasing; diluted EPS 2.94 to 1.69, decreasing.

30

Median gross margin 20.6% over 10y, stable.

Not enough years of ROIC data to score returns on capital.

37

Net debt/EBITDA 1.9x, interest coverage 5x.

25

Owner earnings changed -2.8%/yr over up to the ten most recent annual observations.

The returnsOnCapital component abstained: Not enough years of ROIC data to score returns on capital. The other four 20% weights were renormalized over the scored 80%.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
62% below value if growth stopped today
$299M
$24.46
$24.46
$9.20
62% below value if growth stopped today

A discount this large is often a warning rather than a bargain — the market may expect earnings to keep falling. See the revenue trend above.

How to read this

What today’s price assumes: owner earnings shrinking ~18%/yr over 5 years. The estimate assumes owner earnings stay flat (0% growth).

We solve for the constant annual change in owner earnings that would make the five-year zero-growth estimate equal today’s price. This keeps the existing model inputs and calculation unchanged; it is an expectations lens, not a forecast.

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. LEG revenue fell in each of the three most recent year-over-year FY comparisons, so this estimate is flagged as unreliable for this company.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 238% above the zero-growth estimate across 49 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Sep 4, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOG, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, RMD, GRMN, PCTY, EAT, UI, SSD, MNST, DOCS, LRCX, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, ROL, CTAS, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, JKHY, TPR, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, LOPE

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

19 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

LEGGETT & PLATT INC booked $4.1B of revenue in FY2025 in the Materials sector and kept 18.3% of it as gross profit — a moderate-margin business by that measure. After every other cost, 5.8% of each revenue dollar reached the bottom line.

Across the filed record, revenue held roughly flat, from $4.1B (FY2008) to $4.1B (FY2025) — about −0.0% a year compounded over 17 years.

The balance sheet carried $1.5B of total debt in FY2025 against $299M of owner earnings — roughly 5.0 years of owner earnings to retire it all. Balance-Sheet Safety scores it 37/100.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2007–FY2025 · 19 fiscal years, normalized from LEG’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$4.1B FY2025
$0$2B$4B2007201320192025
Revenue kept after cost of goods18.3% FY2025
0%10%20%2007201320192025
Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Current-year EBIT, tax expense, and non-zero pretax income are required for standard ROIC.

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Current-year EBIT, tax expense, and non-zero pretax income are required for standard ROIC.

Cash an owner could take out$299M FY2025
−$500M$0$500M2007201320192025

The explained ROIC gaps have filed inputs but no meaningful positive invested-capital denominator. Other gaps mean the item is not in the filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Flagship explainer

How LEGGETT & PLATT INC makes its money

LEGGETT & PLATT INC's filing does not supply enough comparable lines for a truthful flow chart — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of revenueSource
$4.1B100%
Cost of revenue$3.3B82%
$744M18%
Income before tax$290M7%
Income tax$54.3M1%
$235M6%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Sep 4, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What LEGGETT & PLATT INC owns — and owes

LEGGETT & PLATT INC's filing tags don't support a full breakdown — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of assetsSource
Total assets$3.5B100%
Cash and equivalents$587M17%
$1.5B42%
Stockholders’ equity$1.0B29%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Sep 4, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What drives LEGGETT & PLATT INC’s return on equity?

One or more filed inputs needed for the five-factor decomposition are unavailable.

DuPont source inputs
InputValueFiscal yearSource
Net income$235MFY2025
Income before tax$290MFY2025
Operating incomeUnavailableFY2025
Revenue$4.1BFY2025
Ending assets$3.5BFY2025
Beginning assets$3.7BFY2024
Ending equity$1.0BFY2025
Beginning equity$689MFY2024
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Sep 4, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

Where LEGGETT & PLATT INC's cash went

LEGGETT & PLATT INC’s filing does not supply enough provenance-matched cash-flow lines for a truthful flow chart — here’s what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of cash from operationsSource
Cash from operations$338M100%
Depreciation and amortization$121M36%
Source: · event Dec 31, 2025 · retrieved Sep 4, 2026 · annual-row source set

Curated 19-manager tier

Who reported holding LEGGETT & PLATT INC

Delayed public 13F reports for 2026-Q2—not live positions, trades, or recommendations.

0 holding0 exited18 not holding18/19 resolved1 not retrieved

Named manager positions and quarter-over-quarter changes
ManagerReported positionQuarter-over-quarterFiling accession
Abrams CapitalNo position reportedNo position reported
Akre CapitalNo position reportedNo position reported
Baupost GroupNo position reportedNo position reported
Berkshire HathawayNo position reportedNo position reported
Brave Warrior AdvisorsNo position reportedNo position reported
Dodge & CoxNo position reportedNo position reported
First EagleNo position reportedNo position reported
FundsmithNo position reportedNo position reported
Gardner Russo & QuinnNo position reportedNo position reported
Gates Foundation TrustNo position reportedNo position reported
Mairs & PowerNo position reportedNo position reported
Markel / Markel-GaynerNo position reportedNo position reported
Oakmark / Harris AssociatesNo position reportedNo position reported
Polen CapitalNo position reportedNo position reported
Sequoia / Ruane CunniffNo position reportedNo position reported
Southeastern Asset ManagementNo position reportedNo position reported
Tweedy, BrowneNo position reportedNo position reported
Yacktman Asset ManagementNo position reportedNo position reported
Pershing SquareNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved

Position size uses shares and filed value from each manager’s 13F. Portfolio weight uses the eligible long-share filing denominator. Changes compare only with the immediately preceding calendar quarter.

Source:
37 SEC filings
  1. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000813917-26-000038 · filed May 15, 2026
  2. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000813917-26-000042 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  3. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000860643-26-000003 · filed May 13, 2026
  4. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000860643-26-000005 · filed Aug 13, 2026
  5. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000905567-26-000002 · filed May 1, 2026
  6. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000905567-26-000003 · filed Aug 11, 2026
  7. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000919574-26-003132 · filed May 15, 2026
  8. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0000919574-26-005176 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  9. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001061768-26-000007 · filed May 14, 2026
  10. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001061768-26-000010 · filed Aug 13, 2026
  11. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001096343-26-000044 · filed May 1, 2026
  12. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001096343-26-000065 · filed Jul 31, 2026
  13. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001104659-26-062592 · filed May 15, 2026
  14. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001104659-26-097175 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  15. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001112520-26-000009 · filed May 14, 2026
  16. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001112520-26-000014 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  17. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-001819 · filed May 14, 2026
  18. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-001911 · filed May 14, 2026
  19. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-001966 · filed May 14, 2026
  20. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-002294 · filed May 15, 2026
  21. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-003035 · filed Aug 4, 2026
  22. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-003402 · filed Aug 13, 2026
  23. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-003496 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  24. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001172661-26-003728 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  25. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-208439 · filed May 6, 2026
  26. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-223352 · filed May 14, 2026
  27. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-226661 · filed May 15, 2026
  28. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-340443 · filed Aug 7, 2026
  29. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-349535 · filed Aug 13, 2026
  30. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001193125-26-352200 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  31. 13F-HR/A · Q1 2026 · Amendment RESTATEMENTFiling detailsAccession 0001325447-26-000018 · filed May 14, 2026
  32. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001325447-26-000020 · filed Aug 5, 2026
  33. 13F-HR/A · Q2 2026 · Amendment NEW HOLDINGSFiling detailsAccession 0001325447-26-000033 · filed Aug 24, 2026
  34. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001398344-26-009296 · filed May 15, 2026
  35. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001398344-26-014641 · filed Aug 14, 2026
  36. 13F-HR · Q1 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001569205-26-000005 · filed May 15, 2026
  37. 13F-HR · Q2 2026Filing detailsAccession 0001569205-26-000012 · filed Aug 14, 2026
· event Jun 30, 2026 · retrieved Sep 4, 2026

Flagship explainer

What LEGGETT & PLATT INC insiders reported

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 5, 2026.

Partial coverage: the incomplete Form 4 walk cannot establish no activity, an activity date, or zero counts.

Moat Score history

17 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale25.4 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 26, 2026Sep 4, 2026

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 5, 2026.

Among the rows shown, A/F/M acquisition, payment or withholding, and exercise or conversion rows outnumber S sale rows (59 versus 0). The filing codes alone do not establish that every such row arose from a compensation plan.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

InsiderShares owned afterDateFiling detail
TRENT TAMMY MSVP - Chief Accounting OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock42,054Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)124,309.469Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 42,054 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 124,309.469 ·
TRENT TAMMY MSVP - Chief Accounting OfficerDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock148,943.589Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
3 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 124,309.469 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 5,861.069 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 18,773.051 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
TRENT TAMMY MSVP - Chief Accounting OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units42,048Not disclosedNot disclosed42,048Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 42,048 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 42,048 ·
TRENT TAMMY MSVP - Chief Accounting OfficerDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units42,048Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 42,048 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock139,250Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)291,043.4683Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 139,250 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 291,043.4683 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock291,043.4683Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 291,043.4683 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units139,244Not disclosedNot disclosed139,244Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 139,244 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 139,244 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units139,244Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 139,244 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock63,744Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)150,903.3892Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 63,744 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 150,903.3892 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock150,928.6242Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 150,903.3892 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 25.235 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units63,744Not disclosedNot disclosed63,744Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 63,744 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 63,744 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units63,744Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 63,744 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock75,292Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)186,973.5866Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 75,292 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 186,973.5866 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Disposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock188,851.3116Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
3 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 186,973.5866 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 1,000 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 877.725 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units75,284Not disclosedNot disclosed75,284Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 75,284 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 75,284 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Disposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units75,284Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 75,284 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock172,086Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)367,879.3294Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 172,086 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 367,879.3294 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock367,879.3294Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 367,879.3294 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units172,082Not disclosedNot disclosed172,082Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 172,082 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 172,082 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units172,082Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 172,082 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock1,167,344Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)2,308,087.1108Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 1,167,344 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 2,308,087.1108 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEODisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock2,851,434.5968Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
3 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 2,308,087.1108 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 514,335 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 29,012.486 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEODisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Employee Stock Options (Right to Buy)95,968$8.3361$800,001See lot detailAug 26, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Employee Stock Options (Right to Buy): 40,917 shares at $9.7759 · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table II · Employee Stock Options (Right to Buy): 55,051 shares at $7.266 · code D · owned after 0 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units1,167,338Not disclosedNot disclosed1,167,338Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 1,167,338 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 1,167,338 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEODisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units1,167,338Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 1,167,338 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock121,492Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)241,269.7345Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 121,492 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 241,269.7345 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock241,269.7345Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 241,269.7345 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units121,486Not disclosedNot disclosed121,486Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 121,486 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 121,486 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units121,486Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 121,486 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock170,312Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)362,964.9905Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 170,312 shares at — (Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)) · code A · owned after 362,964.9905 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFODisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock364,294.3173Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
4 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 362,964.9905 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 31.699 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 1,272.9388 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 24.689 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units170,308Not disclosedNot disclosed170,308Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 170,308 shares at Not disclosed · code A · owned after 170,308 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFODisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units170,308Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Cash-Settled Restricted Stock Units: 170,308 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
WOOD PHOEBE ADirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock95,143.015Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
3 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 94,343.015 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 400 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 400 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
Shah JaiDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock72,004.3808Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 72,004.3808 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
Shah JaiDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Stock Options (Right to Buy)25,886$8.285$214,466See lot detailAug 26, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Stock Options (Right to Buy): 12,865 shares at $8.28 · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table II · Stock Options (Right to Buy): 13,021 shares at $8.29 · code D · owned after 0 ·
Padmanabhan SrikanthDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock69,845.1183Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 69,845.1183 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
MCCLANATHAN JOSEPH WDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock120,307.38Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 120,307.38 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
CAMPBELL MARYELIZABETH RDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock64,135.7516Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 64,135.7516 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
CAMPBELL MARYELIZABETH RDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table II · Disposed · Stock Options (Right to Buy)4,274$10.24$43,7660Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Stock Options (Right to Buy): 4,274 shares at $10.24 · code D · owned after 0 ·
Brunner Robert EDirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock128,895.8367Not disclosedNot disclosedSee lot detailAug 26, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 113,025.8367 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 15,870 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
BARBEE ANGELADirectorDisposition to the issuer (D)Table I · Disposed · Common Stock51,033.3719Not disclosedNot disclosed0Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 51,033.3719 shares at Not disclosed · code D · owned after 0 ·
WOOD PHOEBE ADirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock208.5478$7.504$1,56594,343.015Aug 24, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 208.5478 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 94,343.015 ·
Shah JaiDirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock304.1957$7.504$2,283See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 66.4693 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 71,766.6544 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 237.7264 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 72,004.3808 ·
Padmanabhan SrikanthDirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock206.6595$7.504$1,55169,845.1183Aug 24, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 206.6595 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 69,845.1183 ·
MCCLANATHAN JOSEPH WDirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock259.695$7.504$1,949120,307.38Aug 24, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 259.695 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 120,307.38 ·
CAMPBELL MARYELIZABETH RDirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock217.3219$7.504$1,631See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 36.3402 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 63,954.7699 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 180.9817 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 64,135.7516 ·
Brunner Robert EDirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock431.0255$7.504$3,234See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 138.7699 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 112,733.5811 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 292.2556 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 113,025.8367 ·
BARBEE ANGELADirectorGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock166.2946$7.504$1,248See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 16.8448 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 50,883.9221 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 149.4498 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 51,033.3719 ·
TRENT TAMMY MSVP - Chief Accounting OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock318.6619$7.7537$2,471See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 169.6827 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 82,106.4898 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 148.9792 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 82,255.469 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock417.7784$7.693$3,214See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 168.4021 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 151,544.092 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 249.3763 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 151,793.4683 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock242.0724$7.7118$1,867See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 107.247 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 87,024.5638 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 134.8254 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 87,159.3892 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock242.5371$7.7822$1,887See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 143.8417 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 111,582.8912 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 98.6954 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 111,681.5866 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock320.7941$7.8505$2,518See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 236.9735 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 195,709.5088 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 83.8206 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 195,793.3294 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock2,175.8992$7.793$16,957See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 1,341.0285 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 1,139,908.2401 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 834.8707 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 1,140,743.1108 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock184.9397$7.9164$1,464See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 162.6076 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 119,755.4024 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 22.3321 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 119,777.7345 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock269.7474$7.8789$2,125See lot detailAug 24, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 215.5989 shares at $7.973 · code A · owned after 192,598.842 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 54.1485 shares at $7.504 · code A · owned after 192,652.9905 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock349.0191$7.6955$2,686See lot detailAug 21, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 124.217 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 151,150.8878 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 224.8021 shares at $7.528 · code A · owned after 151,375.6899 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock91.7585$7.9985$73486,917.3168Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 91.7585 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 86,917.3168 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock96.5669$7.9985$772111,439.0495Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 96.5669 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 111,439.0495 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock456.309$7.6729$3,501See lot detailAug 21, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 140.5651 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 195,156.7914 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 315.7439 shares at $7.528 · code A · owned after 195,472.5353 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock308.1453$7.9985$2,4651,138,567.2116Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 308.1453 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 1,138,567.2116 ·
DAVIS JENNIFER JOYEVP - GENERAL COUNSELGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock115.8017$7.9985$926119,592.7948Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 115.8017 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 119,592.7948 ·
BURNS BENJAMIN MICHAELExecutive Vice President - CFOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock140.5651$7.9985$1,124192,383.2431Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 140.5651 shares at $7.9985 · code A · owned after 192,383.2431 ·
SMITH ROBERT S JREVP, Pres. - Spec. and FF&TGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock341.4002$7.8672$2,686See lot detailAug 7, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 121.5054 shares at $8.177 · code A · owned after 150,806.776 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 219.8948 shares at $7.696 · code A · owned after 151,026.6708 ·
ODAFFER LINDSEY NICOLEEVP - Chief HR OfficerGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock89.7554$8.177$73486,825.5583Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 89.7554 shares at $8.177 · code A · owned after 86,825.5583 ·
KLEIBOEKER RYAN MICHAELEVP-Chief Strategic Plan. Off.Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock94.4588$8.177$772111,342.4826Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 94.4588 shares at $8.177 · code A · owned after 111,342.4826 ·
HAGALE JAMES TYSONEVP, Pres. - Bedding ProductsGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock446.348$7.8442$3,501See lot detailAug 7, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 137.4966 shares at $8.177 · code A · owned after 194,707.3749 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 308.8514 shares at $7.696 · code A · owned after 195,016.2263 ·
GLASSMAN KARL GDirector, President and CEOGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock301.4186$8.177$2,4651,138,259.0663Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 301.4186 shares at $8.177 · code A · owned after 1,138,259.0663 ·

Source-event as of . Retrieved .

Track record

How LEGGETT & PLATT INC’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.

Point-in-time scores 20112025, one methodology version · reconstructed from filings on file each Dec 31 — never with hindsight

Point-in-time Moat Score (dot colored by tier)Indexed price (total-return (dividends reinvested))Rated Wide-moat that year

How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored LEG on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.

0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatPoint-in-time Moat Score100Indexed price · log scale 201120142017202020232025

Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The indexed price path isn't available for this company yet; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.

What followed, in the years it rated Wide

In the reconstructed history shown, LEG did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.

Materials context

#265 of 309 scored Materials companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #263APHD VERDE BIO HOLDINGS, INC.25.5 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  2. #264MBC MasterBrand, Inc.25.5 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  3. #266MATV MATIV HOLDINGS, INC.25.4 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  4. #267CODI COMPASS DIVERSIFIED HOLDINGS25.3 out of 100, No moatNo moat

Compare LEG with its nearest peersAll Materials companies on the Index →

Common questions about LEG

Does LEGGETT & PLATT INC have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores LEGGETT & PLATT INC (LEG) 25.4 out of 100 — below the Shallow-moat bar, so no moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 10, pricing power 30, returns on capital not measurable from the filings, balance-sheet safety 37, capital allocation 25.
Is LEG trading below the conservative owner-earnings estimate?
The value if growth stopped today — a zero-growth baseline — is $24.46 per share. It capitalizes normalized owner earnings at a 9% rate and assumes 0% growth. Versus a recent price of $9.20, that is 62% below value if growth stopped today. The model also publishes a capped-growth comparison, but the zero-growth estimate is the cautious baseline. It assumes trailing owner earnings persist and is unreliable for declining businesses. This is an educational estimate from primary SEC filings, not intrinsic value as a fact or investment advice.
How has LEG's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 17 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 25.4 out of 100 (no moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.