VISTAGEN THERAPEUTICS, INC.

VTGN · Healthcare · $10.2M mkt cap · FY2026 filings · · No moat ·

Doesn't clear the bar

No moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

38

2024–2026 (latest 3 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $1.1M to $1.3M, increasing; diluted EPS -1.52 to -1.83, decreasing. Latest-filed diluted EPS remains usable for Business Trend, but an integer share-count change lacks enough evidence to confirm a comparable EPS basis; valuation growth therefore stays at 0%.

Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power.

0

Median ROIC -1280.6%, above the 12% hurdle in 0% of years.

55

Net cash position — no leverage risk.

44

Owner earnings changed trend unclear over up to the ten most recent annual observations, share count n/a.

The pricingPower component abstained: Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power. The other four 20% weights were renormalized over the scored 80%.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
No price data
Not reported
Unavailable — insufficient owner-earnings data
Unavailable — insufficient growth-model data
$0.25
No price data

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 238% above the zero-growth estimate across 49 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Sep 4, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOG, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, RMD, GRMN, PCTY, EAT, UI, SSD, MNST, DOCS, LRCX, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, ROL, CTAS, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, JKHY, TPR, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, LOPE

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

28 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

Across the filed record, revenue shrank from $2.1M (FY2011) to $1.3M (FY2026) — about −3.2% a year compounded over 15 years.

VTGN's latest filed year, FY2026, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY1999–FY2026 · 28 fiscal years, normalized from VTGN’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$1.3M FY2026
$0$1M$2M1999200820172026
Revenue kept after cost of goods

Not disclosed in VTGN’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.

Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Exact FY and FY-1 Operating Invested Capital inputs are required.

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Exact FY and FY-1 Operating Invested Capital inputs are required.

Cash an owner could take out−$69.7M FY2026
−$50M$01999200820172026

The explained ROIC gaps have filed inputs but no meaningful positive invested-capital denominator. Other gaps mean the item is not in the filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Visual explainers

The filing-backed explainer service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed chart is shown.

Moat Score history

16 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale34.4 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 20, 2026Sep 4, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

No reported Form 4 rows were captured for VTGN; the incomplete walk cannot establish zero activity, zero counts, or a negative cluster result.

A filing source-event date will appear when a Form 4 row is captured.

Retrieved .

Healthcare context

#465 of 708 scored Healthcare companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #463GEOS GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORP34.6 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  2. #464STEX STREAMEX CORP.34.5 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  3. #466ONCO Onconetix, Inc.34.3 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  4. #467CODX Co-Diagnostics, Inc.34.2 out of 100, No moatNo moat

Compare VTGN with its nearest peersAll Healthcare companies on the Index →

Common questions about VTGN

Does VISTAGEN THERAPEUTICS, INC. have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2026 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores VISTAGEN THERAPEUTICS, INC. (VTGN) 34.4 out of 100 — below the Shallow-moat bar, so no moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 38, pricing power not measurable from the filings, returns on capital 0, balance-sheet safety 55, capital allocation 44.
How has VTGN's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 16 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 34.4 out of 100 (no moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.