VISA INC.
V · Technology · FY2025 filings · · Not rated ·
Not rated
We don't have enough comparable filing data to score at least four of the five filters for V, so we don't publish a composite. Missing: businessTrend, pricingPower. No composite: 2 components abstained (businessTrend: Fewer than two aligned fiscal years of revenue and diluted EPS are available; the filing history does not contain a measurable trend.; pricingPower: Not enough years of gross-margin data to score pricing power.).
20 years of fundamentals
The business, in plain English
Across the filed record, revenue grew from $3.6B (FY2007) to $40.0B (FY2025) — about 14.3% a year compounded over 18 years.
It earned 43.3% on invested capital in the latest filed year, FY2025. Across the full 18-year measurable filed record, median ROIC was 26.5%. Over the v3 recent window (10 measurable filed years), median ROIC was 40.3%. The Returns on Capital filter above scores it 100/100.
The balance sheet carried $25.2B of total debt in FY2025 against $20.1B of owner earnings — roughly 1.3 years of owner earnings to retire it all. Balance-Sheet Safety scores it 96/100.
This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.
Not disclosed in V’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.
Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.
The explained ROIC gaps have filed inputs but no meaningful positive invested-capital denominator. Other gaps mean the item is not in the filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.
Visual explainers
The filing-backed explainer service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed chart is shown.
Moat Score history
No composite readings yet — V’s filings don’t give the engine enough comparable data to score, and we log that honestly instead of guessing a number.
Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars
- Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
- Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
- Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026
- Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.1.0tomoat-index@1.2.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 17, 2026
Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.
Insider activity
Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”
These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.
This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.
Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 22, 2026.
Among the rows shown, A/F/M acquisition, payment or withholding, and exercise or conversion rows outnumber S sale rows (15 versus 5). The filing codes alone do not establish that every such row arose from a compensation plan.
Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.
| Insider | Shares owned after | Date | Filing detail | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 1,867 | $134.76 | $251,597 | 20,271 | Sep 9, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Open-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 1,867 | $368.34 | $687,691 | 18,404 | Sep 9, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Employee Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 1 paired event | 1,867 | —Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M) | — | 3,734 | Sep 9, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 5,875 | $134.76 | $791,715 | 21,049 | Sep 1, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Open-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 5,875 | $379.65 | $2,230,444 | 15,174 | Sep 1, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Employee Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 1 paired event | 5,875 | —Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M) | — | 58,749 | Sep 1, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 2,028 | $109.82 | $222,715 | 20,432 | Aug 31, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Open-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 2,028 | $381.35 | $773,378 | 18,404 | Aug 31, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ROTTENBERG JULIE BGENERAL COUNSEL | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Employee Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 1 paired event | 2,028 | —Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M) | — | 0 | Aug 31, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| Taneja RajatPRESIDENT, TECHNOLOGY | Open-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 17,927 | $370.9968 | $6,650,860 | 232,112 | Aug 21, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 5,875 | $134.76 | $791,715 | 21,049 | Aug 21, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Open-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 5,875 | $367.87 | $2,161,236 | 15,174 | Aug 21, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| MCINERNEY RYANDirector, Chief Executive Officer | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Employee Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 1 paired event | 5,875 | —Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M) | — | 64,624 | Aug 21, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ANDRESKI PETER MGBL CORP CONTROLLER, CAO | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 4,170 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 11,952 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ANDRESKI PETER MGBL CORP CONTROLLER, CAO | Payment of exercise price or tax liability (F)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 1,714 | $364.15 | $624,153 | 10,238 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ANDRESKI PETER MGBL CORP CONTROLLER, CAO | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Units · 1 paired event | 4,170 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| ANDRESKI PETER MGBL CORP CONTROLLER, CAO | Grant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table II · Acquired · Restricted Stock Units | 5,492 | —Grant, award, or other acquisition (A) | — | 5,492 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| Suh ChrisCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event | 15,289 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 25,161 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| Suh ChrisCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | Payment of exercise price or tax liability (F)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock | 6,992 | $364.15 | $2,546,137 | 18,169 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
| Suh ChrisCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Units · 1 paired event | 15,289 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Aug 15, 2026 | 1 filed lot
|
Source-event as of . Retrieved .
Track record
How VISA INC.’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.
How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored V on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.
Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The indexed price path isn't available for this company yet; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.
What followed, in the years it rated Wide
In the reconstructed history shown, V did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.
Technology context
Not ranked — V doesn’t have enough comparable filing data for a composite score, so we don’t place it on the board.
Technology leaders by Moat Score
- #1FTNT FORTINET, INC.100.0 out of 100, Wide moatWide moat
- #2IBEX IBEX LIMITED98.5 out of 100, Wide moatWide moat
- #3META Meta Platforms, Inc.98.4 out of 100, Wide moatWide moat
Common questions about V
- Does VISA INC. have an economic moat?
- We don't publish a Moat Score for VISA INC. (V): its SEC filings don't provide enough comparable data to score at least four of the five filters, and the Index records each gap rather than a guessed number. Missing inputs: revenue and EPS trend, pricing power.
- How has V's Moat Score changed over time?
- The record logs 22 readings since Jul 17, 2026, none with a composite — V hasn't had enough comparable filing data to score. No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 17, 2026, Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.