D.R. Horton, Inc.

DHI · Industrials · $43.2B mkt cap · FY2025 filings · · not refreshed in 39 days · Narrow moat ·

Wonderful & reasonably priced

Narrow moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

56

2021–2025 (latest 5 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $27.8B to $34.3B, increasing; diluted EPS 11.41 to 11.57, increasing.

33

Median gross margin 24.0% over 10y, stable.

Not enough years of ROIC data to score returns on capital.

78

Net cash position — no leverage risk.

100

Owner earnings changed +16.8%/yr over up to the ten most recent annual observations.

The returnsOnCapital component abstained: Not enough years of ROIC data to score returns on capital. The other four 20% weights were renormalized over the scored 80%.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
18% below value if growth stopped today
$4.7B
$179.06
$290.08
$146.76
18% below value if growth stopped today

A discount this large is often a warning rather than a bargain — the market may expect earnings to keep falling. See the revenue trend above.

How to read this

What today’s price assumes: owner earnings shrinking ~4%/yr over 5 years. The estimate assumes owner earnings stay flat (0% growth).

We solve for the constant annual change in owner earnings that would make the five-year zero-growth estimate equal today’s price. This keeps the existing model inputs and calculation unchanged; it is an expectations lens, not a forecast.

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 239% above the zero-growth estimate across 48 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Jul 26, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOGL, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, GRMN, SSD, MNST, DOCS, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, LRCX, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, RMD, ROL, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, CTAS, LOPE, MRK, CMG, FAST, BKNG, ORLY

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF, BKNG.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 4% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

19 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

D.R. Horton, Inc. booked $34.3B of revenue in FY2025 in the Industrials sector and kept 23.7% of it as gross profit — a moderate-margin business by that measure. After every other cost, 10.5% of each revenue dollar reached the bottom line.

Across the filed record, revenue grew from $3.7B (FY2009) to $34.3B (FY2025) — about 15.0% a year compounded over 16 years.

DHI's latest filed year, FY2025, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2007–FY2025 · 19 fiscal years, normalized from DHI’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$34.3B FY2025
$0$20B2007201320192025
Revenue kept after cost of goods23.7% FY2025
0%20%2007201320192025
Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC

Not disclosed in DHI’s filings for these years — we don’t estimate it.

Cash an owner could take out$3.6B FY2025
$0$5B2007201320192025

Gaps in a line mean that item isn’t in DHI’s filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Flagship explainer

How D.R. Horton, Inc. makes its money

D.R. Horton, Inc.'s filing does not supply enough comparable lines for a truthful flow chart — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of revenueSource
$34.3B100%
Cost of revenue$26.1B76%
$8.1B24%
Income before tax$4.7B14%
Income tax$1.1B3%
$3.6B10%
Source: · event Sep 30, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What D.R. Horton, Inc. owns — and owes

D.R. Horton, Inc.'s filing tags don't support a full breakdown — here's what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of assetsSource
Total assets$35.5B100%
Cash and equivalents$3.0B8%
Stockholders’ equity$24.2B68%
Source: · event Sep 30, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

What drives D.R. Horton, Inc.’s return on equity?

One or more filed inputs needed for the five-factor decomposition are unavailable.

DuPont source inputs
InputValueFiscal yearSource
Net income$3.6BFY2025
Income before tax$4.7BFY2025
Operating incomeUnavailableFY2025
Revenue$34.3BFY2025
Ending assets$35.5BFY2025
Beginning assets$36.1BFY2024
Ending equity$24.2BFY2025
Beginning equity$25.3BFY2024
Source: · event Sep 30, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Flagship explainer

Where D.R. Horton, Inc.'s cash went

D.R. Horton, Inc.’s filing does not supply enough provenance-matched cash-flow lines for a truthful flow chart — here’s what is filed:

Table alternative
Filed lineValue% of cash from operationsSource
Cash from operations$3.4B100%
Depreciation and amortization$101M3%
Source: · event Sep 30, 2025 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026 · annual-row source set

Curated 19-manager tier

Who reported holding D.R. Horton, Inc.

Delayed public 13F reports for 2026-Q2—not live positions, trades, or recommendations.

0 holding0 exited1 not holding1/19 resolved18 not retrieved

Named manager positions and quarter-over-quarter changes
ManagerReported positionQuarter-over-quarterFiling accession
Markel / Markel-GaynerNo position reportedNo position reported
Abrams CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Akre CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Baupost GroupNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Berkshire HathawayNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Brave Warrior AdvisorsNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Dodge & CoxNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
First EagleNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
FundsmithNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Gardner Russo & QuinnNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Gates Foundation TrustNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Mairs & PowerNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Oakmark / Harris AssociatesNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Pershing SquareNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Polen CapitalNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Sequoia / Ruane CunniffNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Southeastern Asset ManagementNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Tweedy, BrowneNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved
Yacktman Asset ManagementNot retrievedComparison not retrievedFiling not retrieved

Position size uses shares and filed value from each manager’s 13F. Portfolio weight uses the eligible long-share filing denominator. Changes compare only with the immediately preceding calendar quarter.

Source: · event Jun 30, 2026 · retrieved Jul 26, 2026

Flagship explainer

What D.R. Horton, Inc. insiders reported

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

Partial coverage: the incomplete Form 4 walk cannot establish no activity, an activity date, or zero counts.

Moat Score history

16 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale66.8 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 20, 2026Jul 26, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

33 filings were skipped because the SEC primary document returned 404; the omission is disclosed and aggregates are withheld.

Among the rows shown, A/F/M acquisition, payment or withholding, and exercise or conversion rows outnumber S sale rows (6 versus 0). The filing codes alone do not establish that every such row arose from a compensation plan.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

InsiderShares owned afterDateFiling detail
Smith BarbaraDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock · 1 paired event264Not disclosedNot disclosed817Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 264 shares at Not disclosed · code M · owned after 817 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·
Smith BarbaraDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Unit · 1 paired event264Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)792Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Unit: 264 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 792 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·
CROWLEY ELAINE DDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock · 1 paired event264Not disclosedNot disclosed817Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 264 shares at Not disclosed · code M · owned after 817 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·
CROWLEY ELAINE DDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Unit · 1 paired event264Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)792Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Unit: 264 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 792 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·
CROW M CHADDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock · 1 paired event264Not disclosedNot disclosed951Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 264 shares at Not disclosed · code M · owned after 951 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·
CROW M CHADDirectorExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Unit · 1 paired event264Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)792Aug 26, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Unit: 264 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 792 · Paired event: 264 Restricted Stock Unit → 264 Common Stock ·

Source-event as of . Retrieved .

Track record

How D.R. Horton, Inc.’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.

Point-in-time scores 20112025, one methodology version · reconstructed from filings on file each Dec 31 — never with hindsight

Point-in-time Moat Score (dot colored by tier)Indexed price (total-return (dividends reinvested))Rated Wide-moat that year

How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored DHI on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.

0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatPoint-in-time Moat Score1002005001,000Indexed price · log scale (2012 = 100)201120142017202020232026

Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The price path is a total-return (dividends reinvested) index built from the same data the forward returns use; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.

What followed, in the years it rated Wide

In the reconstructed history shown, DHI did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.

Industrials context

#78 of 446 scored Industrials companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #76DOV DOVER Corp66.9 out of 100, Narrow moatNarrow moat
  2. #77EPAC ENERPAC TOOL GROUP CORP.66.8 out of 100, Narrow moatNarrow moat
  3. #79HBB HAMILTON BEACH BRANDS HOLDING COMPANY66.8 out of 100, Narrow moatNarrow moat
  4. #80MATX Matson, Inc.66.7 out of 100, Narrow moatNarrow moat

Compare DHI with its nearest peersAll Industrials companies on the Index →

Common questions about DHI

Does D.R. Horton, Inc. have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores D.R. Horton, Inc. (DHI) 66.8 out of 100 — a Narrow moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 56, pricing power 33, returns on capital not measurable from the filings, balance-sheet safety 78, capital allocation 100.
Is DHI trading below the conservative owner-earnings estimate?
The value if growth stopped today — a zero-growth baseline — is $179.06 per share. It capitalizes normalized owner earnings at a 9% rate and assumes 0% growth. Versus a recent price of $146.76, that is 18% below value if growth stopped today. The model also publishes a capped-growth comparison, but the zero-growth estimate is the cautious baseline. It assumes trailing owner earnings persist and is unreliable for declining businesses. This is an educational estimate from primary SEC filings, not intrinsic value as a fact or investment advice.
How has DHI's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 16 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 66.8 out of 100 (narrow moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.