Toast, Inc.

TOST · Technology · FY2025 filings · · Shallow moat ·

Doesn't clear the bar

Shallow moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

85

2021–2025 (latest 5 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $1.7B to $6.2B, increasing; diluted EPS -1.68 to 0.56, increasing.

8

Median gross margin 18.7% over 7y, variable.

7

Median ROIC -38.5%, above the 12% hurdle in 20% of years.

100

Net cash position — no leverage risk.

44

Owner earnings changed trend unclear over up to the ten most recent annual observations, share count n/a.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
No price data
Not reported
Unavailable — insufficient owner-earnings data
Unavailable — insufficient growth-model data
$33.85
No price data

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 238% above the zero-growth estimate across 49 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Sep 4, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOG, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, RMD, GRMN, PCTY, EAT, UI, SSD, MNST, DOCS, LRCX, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, ROL, CTAS, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, JKHY, TPR, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, LOPE

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

8 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

Toast, Inc. booked $6.2B of revenue in FY2025 in the Technology sector and kept 25.9% of it as gross profit — a moderate-margin business by that measure. After every other cost, 5.6% of each revenue dollar reached the bottom line.

Across the filed record, revenue grew from $665M (FY2019) to $6.2B (FY2025) — about 44.9% a year compounded over 6 years.

It earned 37.4% on invested capital in the latest filed year, FY2025. Across the full 5-year measurable filed record, median ROIC was −38.5%. Over the v3 recent window (5 measurable filed years), median ROIC was −38.5%. The Returns on Capital filter above scores it 7/100.

TOST's latest filed year, FY2025, doesn't disclose total debt in a form the methodology can use, so current leverage is treated as unmeasured — never assumed to be zero.

Put together: Balance-Sheet Safety is the strongest of the five filters (100/100) and Returns on Capital the weakest (7/100), which is how TOST lands at 49/100 — a Shallow moat.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2018–FY2025 · 8 fiscal years, normalized from TOST’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$6.2B FY2025
$0$2.5B$5B201820212025
Revenue kept after cost of goods25.9% FY2025
0%10%20%201820212025
Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROIC

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Exact FY and FY-1 Operating Invested Capital inputs are required.

Exact FY and FY-1 financing invested-capital inputs are required.. Exact FY and FY-1 Operating Invested Capital inputs are required.

Cash an owner could take out$353M FY2025
−$500M$0201820212025

The explained ROIC gaps have filed inputs but no meaningful positive invested-capital denominator. Other gaps mean the item is not in the filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Visual explainers

The filing-backed explainer service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed chart is shown.

Moat Score history

17 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale48.8 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 17, 2026Sep 4, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Sep 4, 2026.

Among the rows shown, A/F/M acquisition, payment or withholding, and exercise or conversion rows outnumber S sale rows (20 versus 16). The filing codes alone do not establish that every such row arose from a compensation plan.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

InsiderShares owned afterDateFiling detail
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 2 paired events85,280$17.358$1,480,286See lot detailAug 21, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 47,673 shares at $17.38 · code M · owned after 117,639 · Paired event: 47,673 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 47,673 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 37,607 shares at $17.33 · code M · owned after 155,246 · Paired event: 37,607 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 37,607 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock85,280$36.34$3,099,07569,966Aug 21, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 85,280 shares at $36.34 · code S · owned after 69,966 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 2 paired events85,280Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)See lot detailAug 21, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 47,673 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 190,575 · Paired event: 47,673 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 47,673 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 37,607 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 175,256 · Paired event: 37,607 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 37,607 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 2 paired events13,931$17.3566$241,794See lot detailAug 19, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 7,399 shares at $17.38 · code M · owned after 77,365 · Paired event: 7,399 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 7,399 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 6,532 shares at $17.33 · code M · owned after 83,897 · Paired event: 6,532 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 6,532 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock13,931$36.013$501,69769,966Aug 19, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 13,931 shares at $36.013 · code S · owned after 69,966 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 2 paired events13,931Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)See lot detailAug 19, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 7,399 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 238,248 · Paired event: 7,399 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 7,399 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 6,532 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 212,863 · Paired event: 6,532 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 6,532 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 2 paired events13,797$17.3577$239,485See lot detailAug 11, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 7,651 shares at $17.38 · code M · owned after 77,617 · Paired event: 7,651 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 7,651 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 6,146 shares at $17.33 · code M · owned after 83,763 · Paired event: 6,146 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 6,146 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock13,797$36.012$496,85869,966Aug 11, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 13,797 shares at $36.012 · code S · owned after 69,966 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 2 paired events13,797Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)See lot detailAug 11, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 7,651 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 245,647 · Paired event: 7,651 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 7,651 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 6,146 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 219,395 · Paired event: 6,146 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 6,146 Class A Common Stock ·
Narang AmanDirector, CEOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock119,843$35.379$4,239,9250Aug 10, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 119,843 shares at $35.379 · code S · owned after 0 ·
Gomez ElenaPresident, CFOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock5,761$35.371$203,772160,150Aug 10, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 5,761 shares at $35.371 · code S · owned after 160,150 ·
Narang AmanDirector, CEOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock42,105$35.13$1,479,149119,843Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 42,105 shares at $35.13 · code S · owned after 119,843 ·
Gomez ElenaPresident, CFOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock2,163$35.102$75,926165,911Aug 7, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 2,163 shares at $35.102 · code S · owned after 165,911 ·
Narang AmanDirector, CEOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock13,510$35.021$473,134161,948Aug 6, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 13,510 shares at $35.021 · code S · owned after 161,948 ·
Gomez ElenaPresident, CFOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock900$35.017$31,515168,074Aug 6, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 900 shares at $35.017 · code S · owned after 168,074 ·
Narang AmanDirector, CEOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock124,542$35.2946$4,395,654See lot detailAug 5, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 124,458 shares at $35.294 · code S · owned after 175,542 ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 84 shares at $36.11 · code S · owned after 175,458 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 2 paired events4,700$17.3513$81,551See lot detailAug 5, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 2,000 shares at $17.38 · code M · owned after 71,966 · Paired event: 2,000 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 2,000 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 2,700 shares at $17.33 · code M · owned after 74,666 · Paired event: 2,700 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 2,700 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock4,700$36.023$169,30869,966Aug 5, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 4,700 shares at $36.023 · code S · owned after 69,966 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 2 paired events4,700Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)See lot detailAug 5, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 2,000 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 253,298 · Paired event: 2,000 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 2,000 Class A Common Stock ·
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 2,700 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 225,541 · Paired event: 2,700 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 2,700 Class A Common Stock ·
Gomez ElenaPresident, CFOOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock16,176$35.2932$570,903See lot detailAug 5, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 15,976 shares at $35.283 · code S · owned after 169,174 ·
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 200 shares at $36.11 · code S · owned after 168,974 ·
Niola RossanaPrincipal Accounting OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock2,298$33.446$76,8594,306Aug 4, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 2,298 shares at $33.446 · code S · owned after 4,306 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event14,280$2.21$31,55984,246Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 14,280 shares at $2.21 · code M · owned after 84,246 · Paired event: 14,280 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 14,280 Class A Common Stock ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerOpen-market or private sale (S)Table I · Disposed · Class A Common Stock14,280$32.887$469,62669,966Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 14,280 shares at $32.887 · code S · owned after 69,966 ·
Vassil JonathanChief Revenue OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Stock Option (Right to Buy) · 1 paired event14,280Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)300,151Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Stock Option (Right to Buy): 14,280 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 300,151 · Paired event: 14,280 Stock Option (Right to Buy) → 14,280 Class A Common Stock ·
Niola RossanaPrincipal Accounting OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table I · Acquired · Class A Common Stock · 1 paired event6,604Not disclosedNot disclosed6,604Aug 1, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Class A Common Stock: 6,604 shares at Not disclosed · code M · owned after 6,604 · Paired event: 6,604 Restricted Stock Units → 6,604 Class A Common Stock ·
Niola RossanaPrincipal Accounting OfficerExercise or conversion of derivative security (M)Table II · Disposed · Restricted Stock Units · 1 paired event6,604Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)46,235Aug 1, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table II · Restricted Stock Units: 6,604 shares at — (Exercise or conversion of derivative security (M)) · code M · owned after 46,235 · Paired event: 6,604 Restricted Stock Units → 6,604 Class A Common Stock ·

Source-event as of . Retrieved .

Technology context

#317 of 749 scored Technology companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #315THTG TECH TONIC GROUP CORP.48.9 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  2. #316ASAN Asana, Inc.48.8 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  3. #318KVYO Klaviyo, Inc.48.8 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat
  4. #319WAY Waystar Holding Corp.48.8 out of 100, Shallow moatShallow moat

Compare TOST with its nearest peersAll Technology companies on the Index →

Common questions about TOST

Does Toast, Inc. have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores Toast, Inc. (TOST) 48.8 out of 100 — a Shallow moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 85, pricing power 8, returns on capital 7, balance-sheet safety 100, capital allocation 44.
How has TOST's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 17 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 48.8 out of 100 (shallow moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.