Shenandoah Telecommunications Company

SHEN · Communications · $627M mkt cap · FY2025 filings · · not refreshed in 36 days · No moat ·

Doesn't clear the bar

No moat
Share / Embed this score
Embed this score

The five investor questions

60

2021–2025 (latest 5 aligned FYs; v3 window cap 5): revenue $245M to $358M, increasing; diluted EPS 19.92 to -0.71, decreasing.

100

Median gross margin 64.6% over 2y, very stable.

0

Median ROIC -0.3%, above the 12% hurdle in 0% of years.

0

Net debt/EBITDA 5.6x, interest coverage -1x.

24

Owner earnings changed trend unclear over up to the ten most recent annual observations.

Price vs. value if growth stopped today

A cautious baseline, not a price target: what the shares may support if normalized owner earnings simply hold steady.

Above value if growth stopped todayBelow value if growth stopped today
602% above value if growth stopped today
$8M
$1.63
$1.63
$11.42
602% above value if growth stopped today

What today’s price assumes: owner earnings growing ~48%/yr over 5 years. The zero-growth estimate assumes owner earnings stay flat (0% growth).

How to read this

We solve for the constant annual change in owner earnings that would make the five-year zero-growth estimate equal today’s price. This keeps the existing model inputs and calculation unchanged; it is an expectations lens, not a forecast.

This zero-growth estimate assumes trailing owner earnings persist — unreliable for declining businesses. The recent FY revenue series does not trigger the three-consecutive-declines flag.

Among the current top-score group, the median current price is 239% above the zero-growth estimate across 48 of the current top 50 companies by Moat Score with both values.

Score records captured Jul 26, 2026.

Exactly which 50 companies?

FTNT, META, MEDP, IBEX, MSFT, GOOGL, LULU, ANF, IDXX, TXRH, FHI, QLYS, FFIV, ADBE, LLY, MANH, VEEV, GRMN, SSD, MNST, DOCS, MCO, CPRT, NTAP, LRCX, NVDA, CORT, SFM, MPTI, ULTA, SN, RMD, ROL, PAYC, IRMD, INTU, DECK, MORN, LGCY, DAL, GWW, ISRG, MPWR, CTAS, LOPE, MRK, CMG, FAST, BKNG, ORLY

Missing a usable price or zero-growth estimate: ANF, BKNG.

Model details under moat-index@3.0.0: zero-growth multiple 11.1×, capped-growth comparison at no more than 18×; 9% discount rate; high-end growth 0% (capped at 4%) using min(5y revenue CAGR, 5y diluted-EPS CAGR), clamped to 0%–4%; maintenance capex uses min(capex, D&A); abstain when D&A is unavailable. This is a disclosed model range, not intrinsic value as fact.

18 years of fundamentals

The business, in plain English

Across the filed record, revenue grew from $161M (FY2009) to $358M (FY2025) — about 5.1% a year compounded over 16 years.

It earned −1.2% on invested capital in the latest filed year, FY2025. Across the full 17-year measurable filed record, median ROIC was 1.3%. Over the v3 recent window (10 measurable filed years), median ROIC was −0.3%. The Returns on Capital filter above scores it 0/100.

The balance sheet carried $628M of total debt in FY2025. Balance-Sheet Safety scores it 0/100.

Put together: Pricing Power is the strongest of the five filters (100/100) and Returns on Capital the weakest (0/100), which is how SHEN lands at 37/100 — a None moat.

This breakdown is generated from the filed numbers and sub-scores above — no outside narrative, no estimates. Where a filing doesn’t disclose an input, the sentence that would need it is omitted instead of guessed.

FY2008–FY2025 · 18 fiscal years, normalized from SHEN’s SEC filings

Sales, as filed$358M FY2025
$0$250M$500M2008201420202025
Revenue kept after cost of goods65.4% FY2017
0%25%50%2008201420202025
Standard ROIC or separately labeled Operating ROICROIC −1.2% FY2025
0%10%2008201420202025
Cash an owner could take out−$32.9M FY2025
$0$500M$1B2008201420202025

Gaps in a line mean that item isn’t in SHEN’s filings for that year. The series is never interpolated or estimated. The Table view lists every filed value, including operating and net margins, total debt, and share count.

Visual explainers

The filing-backed explainer service is temporarily unavailable, so no partial or guessed chart is shown.

Moat Score history

15 logged readings since Jul 17, 2026 · append-only, never rewritten

Moat Score over timeLast scored reading of each day, on the 0–100 scale36.8 / 100
0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatJul 17, 2026Jul 26, 2026

Breaks in the line mark methodology or normalizer upgrades — readings across versions aren’t compared, so a level shift there isn’t a change in the business.

Tier changesSame-methodology and same-normalizer crossings of the Wide / Narrow / Shallow bars

  1. Normalizer upgraded unstamped (version unknown)tomoat-xbrl-normalizer@1.1.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 26, 2026
  2. Methodology upgraded moat-index@2.0.0tomoat-index@3.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 23, 2026
  3. Methodology upgraded moat-index@1.2.0tomoat-index@2.0.0 — readings across versions aren’t comparedJul 20, 2026

Scores are logged append-only and never overwritten — this record cannot be reconstructed retroactively, which is exactly why it’s worth keeping.

Insider activity

Form 4 reports mix P/S market or private transactions with compensation-plan mechanics. Activity casually described as “insider selling” can include compensation mechanics; awards, tax withholding, and option exercises are shown by their exact filed class here, never collapsed into “Bought” or “Sold.”

These are disclosed filing facts and arithmetic aggregates, not a signal or verdict.

This machine-readable surface covers SEC ownership filings from 2003; it does not represent earlier paper-era records.

Records still being gathered — partial as of retrieval Aug 31, 2026.

72 filings were skipped because the SEC primary document returned 404; the omission is disclosed and aggregates are withheld.

Among the rows shown, A/F/M acquisition, payment or withholding, and exercise or conversion rows outnumber S sale rows (6 versus 0). The filing codes alone do not establish that every such row arose from a compensation plan.

Trailing-12-month totals and the 90-day cluster result are withheld because this issuer walk is incomplete.

InsiderShares owned afterDateFiling detail
SCHULTZ LEIGH ANNRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock55.6022$11.99$66734,358.2696Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 55.6022 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 34,358.2696 ·
Rhymes Michael AnthonyRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock41.7014$11.99$50011,916.2122Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 41.7014 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 11,916.2122 ·
QUAGLIO KENNETH LRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock83.4028$11.99$1,00034,797.9958Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 83.4028 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 34,797.9958 ·
Koontz Richard L JrRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock41.7014$11.99$50071,813.2151Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 41.7014 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 71,813.2151 ·
Beckett ThomasRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock33.3611$11.99$40030,935.6109Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 33.3611 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 30,935.6109 ·
BARNES VICTOR CHRISTOPHERRole not disclosedGrant, award, or other acquisition (A)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock68.1126$11.99$81724,663.8385Aug 3, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 68.1126 shares at $11.99 · code A · owned after 24,663.8385 ·
VOLK JAMES JRole not disclosedOpen-market or private purchase (P)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock4,283.064$11.6739$50,000See lot detailJul 31, 2026
2 filed lots
  • Table I · Common Stock: 4,186.064 shares at $11.67 · code P · owned after 92,573.631 ·
  • Table I · Common Stock: 97 shares at $11.8415 · code P · owned after 92,670.631 ·
McKay Edward HRole not disclosedOpen-market or private purchase (P)Table I · Acquired · Common Stock2,000$12.14$24,280136,007Jul 31, 2026
1 filed lot
  • Table I · Common Stock: 2,000 shares at $12.14 · code P · owned after 136,007 ·

Source-event as of . Retrieved .

Track record

How Shenandoah Telecommunications Company’s moat rated in each of the years we can reconstruct from its filings — scored only on what was knowable at the time — and what its price and returns did afterward. The score never saw a price; the two are joined only in hindsight, for education, not as a signal.

Point-in-time scores 20112025, one methodology version · reconstructed from filings on file each Dec 31 — never with hindsight

Point-in-time Moat Score (dot colored by tier)Indexed price (total-return (dividends reinvested))Rated Wide-moat that year

How to read this: each dot is what the engine would have scored SHEN on that December 31; the line below is its total-return price path (dividends reinvested) in the years since.

0406080100WideNarrowShallowNo moatPoint-in-time Moat Score1002005001,000Indexed price · log scale (2012 = 100)201120142017202020232026

Two tracks, one timeline: the score has its own 0–100 scale (top), the price its own 100-based scale (bottom) — never a shared axis. The price path is a total-return (dividends reinvested) index built from the same data the forward returns use; gaps in the score line are years with no reconstructed rating (see the table for why). The Table view carries every value.

What followed, in the years it rated Wide

In the reconstructed history shown, SHEN did not rate Wide-moat in any year, so there is no wide-moat track record to report. That absence is itself the honest answer — we don’t manufacture a comparison where the rating never earned one.

Communications context

#65 of 134 scored Communications companies, ranked by Moat Score.

Nearest peers by Moat Score

  1. #63ECHO EchoStar Corporation37.0 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  2. #64GMBL ESPORTS ENTERTAINMENT GROUP, INC.36.9 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  3. #66UONE URBAN ONE, INC.36.8 out of 100, No moatNo moat
  4. #67LBTYA Liberty Global Ltd.36.5 out of 100, No moatNo moat

Compare SHEN with its nearest peersAll Communications companies on the Index →

Common questions about SHEN

Does Shenandoah Telecommunications Company have an economic moat?
Based on its FY2025 SEC filings, the Moat Index scores Shenandoah Telecommunications Company (SHEN) 36.8 out of 100 — below the Shallow-moat bar, so no moat. The five questions behind that score begin at 20% each; if exactly one genuinely lacks data, the other four weights are renormalized and disclosed. revenue and EPS trend 60, pricing power 100, returns on capital 0, balance-sheet safety 0, capital allocation 24.
Is SHEN trading below the conservative owner-earnings estimate?
The value if growth stopped today — a zero-growth baseline — is $1.63 per share. It capitalizes normalized owner earnings at a 9% rate and assumes 0% growth. Versus a recent price of $11.42, that is 602% above value if growth stopped today. The model also publishes a capped-growth comparison, but the zero-growth estimate is the cautious baseline. It assumes trailing owner earnings persist and is unreliable for declining businesses. This is an educational estimate from primary SEC filings, not intrinsic value as a fact or investment advice.
How has SHEN's Moat Score changed over time?
The record logs 15 readings since Jul 17, 2026; the latest reads 36.8 out of 100 (no moat). No tier changes on record yet. (Methodology or normalizer upgrades on Jul 20, 2026, Jul 23, 2026, Jul 26, 2026 re-based the score; readings across versions aren't compared.) The history is append-only — readings are only ever added, never rewritten.